Skip to main content

LKC: Training & Research

Welcome to the Cairns Hospital Library & Knowledge Centre, Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service

LKC Training calendar

Can't make these times?
Email us to book a time.

Training we offer

The LKC offers training in a range of topics, including navigating CKN, research support and searching skills. We conduct this training various ways:

CKN access

Clinical Knowledge Network CKN logo

The Clinical Knowledge Network (CKN) website provides access to online resources for Queensland Health staff.

Staff can register for off-site access.

Referencing

LKC training feedback forms

Upcoming training

LKC training support

Our July to November 2018 Training Schedule is now available. We have sessions for Database searching; Searching for evidence;  Introduction to EndNote.

If the scheduled times don't suit you or your team, please contact us to arrange a different time or to request an in-service session.

Coming soon are specialty-specific training sessions: Evidence for nurses; Evidence for doctors; Evidence for physios; Evidence for social workers; Evidence for people managers; Evidence for speech pathologists.....and more! Contact us if you are interested in a session for your work unit.

Research support

LKC has published following guides to support research. The guides provide tips, tricks and information included in our training sessions with supporting resources.

Searching for Evidence guide covers developing search strategies, answerable questions using PICO, study types and levels of evidence, evidence appraisal resources and EBP resources.

Guide to online resources and databases by discipline provides guidance for specific disciplines to CKN and other online resources and databases.

EndNote guide, aimed at the beginner, provides information about building an EndNote library, using EndNote to produce references and bibliographies in documents.


Tips for effective literature searching

Consider your keywords and how you will search them. For example:

  • American vs British spelling
  • Different word endings like singular vs plural
  • Different words for the same concept (eg teens, adolescents, youths)
  • Use truncation (*) or wild cards (?) to retrieve alternatives : eg child* (for child / children / child's etc) OR wom?m (women or woman) OR p#ediatrics (British vs American spelling)
  • Phrase searching. Use quote marks, eg "chest pain"

Consider using mapping or suggest subject features on databases to find Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Note: subject headings may change between databases to reflect the discipline or specialty.

Understand the difference between using AND or OR to connect separate keywords / subjects or search statements. These connecting words are referred to as "Boolean operators".

Use a step by step approach to track your results and enable you to make changes as you go.

See LKC Literature (Database) searching tips handout for more detailed help.

Training help and videos

Contact us

Contact us directly:

  • +61 7 4226 6679
  • Email
  • 08:30-17:00
    Monday-Friday

Closed weekends and public holidays.

FAQs Ask a question about LKC services

How reliable is a journal/article?

There are several tools available  to assess the quality or reliability of particular journals or articles, though usefulness varies between industries, publishers etc. Queensland Health staff may also be able to access some metrics via the "PlumX" link on records in CKN search results.

The LKC has extensive "tips for appraising literature" our Critical Appraisal page (Searching for Evidence Guide).

Several Australian universities provide information on some of the key tools to use when trying to find metrics or reliability of particular journals or articles. 

Statement of attendance

Need a statement of attendance for any training you have attended to support your continuing professional development recognition?

We are happy to provide this for you. Just ask us if we haven't already offered it.

CHHHS & TCHHS staff publications

Following is an RSS feed from PubMed for papers published with Cairns & Hinterland HHS, Cairns Hospital or Cairns Base Hospital author affiliations.

Click on Website link below to re-run the search.

Loading ...

Following is an RSS feed from PubMed for papers published with Torres & Cape HHS, Thursday Island Hospital, Cooktown Multipurpose Health Service or Weipa Hospital author affiliations.

Click on Website link below to re-run the search.

Loading ...

Following is an RSS feed from PubMed for papers published with Northern Rural Health Training Unit author affiliations.

Click on Website link below to re-run the search.

Loading ...
Loading ...

Tel. +61 7 4226 6679 | E: cairns_library@health.qld.gov.au
Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service acknowledges and pays respect to the Aboriginal Traditional Owners and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders, People, Consumers, and Staff, past and present, on whose land we provide health services.
Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Accessibility
© The State of Queensland (Queensland Health) 2018 | Queensland Government