It is important that you regularly back up your EndNote library.
There are a few ways to back up, but if you save a compressed copy it has the added benefit of reducing the size of your library, making it transferrable to a storage device and usable on mulitple computers.
Just go to File - Compressed Library (.enlx) and save as per below!
You can add references to your EndNote library manually or by directly importing them from databases and other online resources.
It is recommended that you check references as you go to make sure they are as accurate and complete as possible.
Adding references manually is simple and quite quick. Clarivate Analytics has a YouTube video that outlines manual entry of references, which can be found below.
Direct import from databases is also simple and quick, particularly for bulk imports. The LKC has prepared a guide to importing directly into EndNote from four popular resources, which can also be found below.
One of the most effective ways to organise your library is to use groups. There are two types of groups:
In EndNote X9, PDF files may automatically attach to relevant articles. This may not work effectively when you are using a QH computer (because of authentication issues). If it doesn't automatically attach, you can always attach it yourself.
Once attached and saved, did you know you can annotate the PDF? Marking up and highlighting are both available in EndNote.
If you just have a PDF and no reference, go to "Import", follow the prompts and EndNote will import the PDF for you and create a reference for it. If your PDF has a DOI a lot of information should be imported automatically, but if not you will need to add citation information.
You can also use EndNote to try and find the full-text of articles, and automatically attach the file to the reference.
Select the relevant reference(s), right click and select "find full text". EndNote will then search within certain databases and attach the PDF to the reference. This may not work effectively on a QH computer due to automatic authentication in the QH environment. If you can not locate full text using EndNote, we recommend that you double check by searching on CKN directly.
You can set up EndNote preferences to activate this Find Full Text functionality with CKN (see below). This does not work seamlessly and its effectiveness varies with publishers and other factors. However, it is potentially a time saver when using CKN to find references.
To delete duplicate entries from your libary go to "references" and select "find duplicates" from the drop down list.
Did you know there is a setting under "Preferences" were you can establish your parameters for managing duplicates? Check it out and set up your library exactly as you want it.
Your EndNote library comes with the capacity to search online resources from within EndNote, which is great if you know exactly what you are looking for!
When you install EndNote at work, it will come automatically set up with access to Library of Congress, LISTA, PubMed and Web of Science. You can add extra links by clicking on the "more" button in the section.
If you want to build a complex search it is recommended you do in the database rather than in EndNote, to ensure you get more complete results.
Remember to put a comma at the end of any corporate authors so that they display properly in your documents.
If there is no comma (or other punctuation) EndNote will assume the last word on the line is the surname, and will format accordingly. EndNote will recognise anything before a comma as a surname and will format accordingly.
Punctuation is also important in separating multiple items on a single line, such as a list of authors. Be sure to insert a semi colon between each author so that EndNote knows they are separate entities. Alternatively, just put each author on a new line.
+61 7 4226 6679
LKC Library is operating under COVID-19 restrictions.
We are available 8.30am-4.30pm, Mon-Fri. Closed weekends & public holidays.